LibGuides: Substance Abuse 430: Substance Abuse 430

Reference Books

Buzzed: The Straight Facts About the Most Used and Abused Drugs from Alcohol to Ecstasy

REF RM 316 .K84 2014

Clinical Handbook of Psychotropic Drugs

REF RM 315 .C547

The Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals

REF RS 51 .M4 2013

Physicians' Desk Reference (PDR)

REF RS 75 .P5 2015

Substance Abuse - Glenda Warren

This is a guide for students enrolled in Substance Abuse 430 taught by Dr. Glenda Warren. in this guide you will find many of the resources that were discussed during the library instruction session.

If you can't find what you're looking for, or have further questions, please contact a librarian.

Suggested Databases

Allied Health and Sports Science
View a full list of databases for Allied Health and Sports Science

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for nearly 3,200 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.
AHFS Consumer Medication Information This link opens in a new window
AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers.
CINAHL with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source of full text for nursing and allied health journals, providing full text for more than 580 journals indexed in CINAHL.
Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text includes bibliographic records from over 590 journals and full text from over 320 magazines and journals covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in the coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.
Health Source Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
A definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Contains over 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals.

Websites

European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction Drug Profiles
Drug profiles provided by the European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction (EMCDDA). This European Union decentralised agency was established in 1993.
The EMCDDA exists to provide the EU and its Member States with a factual overview of European drug problems and a solid evidence base to support the drugs debate. Today it offers policymakers the data they need for drawing up informed drug laws and strategies. It also helps professionals and practitioners working in the field pinpoint best practice and new areas of research.
National Institute on Drug Abuse
The National Institute on Drug Abuse is a U.S. government institute that focuses on research on drug abuse and addiction. This site includes information on specific drugs and research into drug abuse and the prevention and treatment of drug abuse.
PDR.net
Online access to frequently updated information from PDR®, the most recognized drug information reference available in the U.S.

Reference and Instruction Librarian

Carrie Byrd

Email Me

Contact:

606-539-4160