LibGuides: Art and Art History: Books and Ebooks

Find Books and E-books

Use the Library Catalog (UC Search) to search our collection of books and ebooks!

UC Search
UC Search shows records of everything the UC Library owns or has access to, from books to videos to journal articles.

EBSCO eBook Collection (All)
UC's largest collection of e-books!

For more information on using individual E-Book Collections, see the E-Books Library Guide.

Reference E-book Collections

Want to learn general information on a topic?

Try one of these resources to start!

Britannica Online
Online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica.
Credo Reference
Hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject specific titles as well as images, audio, and video.
Oxford English Dictionary
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is the accepted authority of the English language.
Sage Reference
The premier social sciences platform for SAGE and CQ Press book, reference and video content.

EBSCO E-book Help

Downloading e-books from EBSCO to your computer for offline reading

Arts Stats (ProQuest)

Statistical Abstract
Statistical Summary of the United States
Sec. 26 Arts, Recreation, and Travel

Finding Art Books in the Library

Our library uses the Library of Congress classification system, meaning that most of the Art and Art History books are shelved under N for Fine Arts and T for Technology.

Useful Subclasses for Art and Art History

N - Visual Arts
NA - Architecture
NB - Sculpture
NC - Drawing, Design, Illustration
ND - Painting
NE - Print Media
NK - Decorative Arts
NX - Arts in General
TR - Photography
TT - Handicrafts including Woodworking and Metalworking