LibGuides: Qualitative Research: Databases &amp; Search Terms

Qualitative Top Databases

Sage Journals This link opens in a new window SAGE publishes more than 520 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. SAGE Journals Online is the delivery platform that provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals. The SAGE Full-Text Collections are also available on SAGE Journals Online.
CINAHL with Full-Text This link opens in a new window The world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 610 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index - with no embargo. Full-text coverage dates back to 1981.
ERIC This link opens in a new window ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Proquest Disserations and Theses This link opens in a new window This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
Sage Research Methods Core This link opens in a new window Sage Research Methods Core provides books, reference works, podcasts, videos, and research methods tools that provide resources for conducting scholarly research. The Books and Reference section of Sage Research Methods Core includes links to all Little Green Books and Little Blue Books.

Qualitative Search Terms

Keywords (the * indicates the word may have different endings)

Action research	Descriptive qualitative research	Generic qualitative description	Oral history
Activities of daily living	Descriptive qualitative stud*	Grounded theory	Participatory action research
Appreciative inquiry	Descriptive stud*	Health-related quality of life	Participant observation
Assessment*	Discourse analysis	Hermeneutic*	Phenomengraph*
Autoethnograph*	Ethnograph*	Interview	Phenomenolog*
Biographical research	Ethnomethodolog*	Lived experience	Qualitative
Case stud*	Exploratory stud*	Narrativ*	Qualitative meta-synthesis
Constant comparative	Field notes	Naturalistic study	Qualitative method*
Content analysis	Field stud*	Observational method*	Qualitative research
Conversation analysis	Focus group*	Opinion*	Qualitative stud*

*Adopted from NSUFL