Skip to main content

Rare Books Collection: Home

How to use rare books in the library

Rare Books Locations

Rare Books will show two different locations in the catalog:

Cumberland Appalachian Rare Books are in the larger glass case across from the oversize books and near the A's of main collection.

Cumberland Rare Books are in the smaller bookcase on the far side of the Norma Perkins Hagan portrait from the Appalachian Rare bookcase.

Welcome

Welcome to the LibGuide for the Rare Book Collection at the University of the Cumberlands.  

The University of the Cumberlands has two different rare book collections: one general interest, and one specifically for materials about the Appalachian region, which includes the University of the Cumberlands!  These rare book collections are available to University of the Cumberlands faculty, staff, students, and visitors for library use only under advisement of a librarian.  Faculty may request alternate access to materials at the discretion of a librarian.

Come visit the rare collections to learn more about the history of the University of the Cumberlands, Williamsburg, Appalachian history and literature, Kentucky history, and a wide variety of other subjects!

Browse this guide by clicking on the tabs above.

 

Have any questions?  Use the profile to the right to contact me by email or phone or come see us at the library!

Steele-Reese Foundation

We thank the Steele-Reese Foundation for their support in building our Appalachian and Appalachian Rare Collection.

Subject Guide

Sara Schumacher's picture
Sara Schumacher
Contact:
606-539-4464