Last Updated: Feb 24, 2015
Welcome to the libguide for Religion and Philosophy! Here you will find information on the many resources the library has available for those studying religion and philosophy.
Browse this guide by clicking on the tabs.
Got questions? Use the profile bar to contact me, or come visit us in the library!
Check out this LibGuide on how you can view databases on your mobile devices.
The University has many databases available for your use. While you may be familiar with general databases, such as Academic Search Premier or JStor, you may not know that there are also databases that relate to your specific topic. We have selected a few for you to check out here.
View Databases A - Z
- Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for nearly 3,200 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals.
- Biography in Context
cludes 600,00 + biographies featuring people from history to science to literature. Hundreds of topic pages with integrated reference material, periodical information and multimedia content. Also included is the Lives & Perspectives Collection which supports high-school curricula and university coursework by providing multidisciplinary content on notable figures and the societal forces that have shaped their lives.
- Films on Demand
A collection of more than 6,400 full-length educational films covering a wide variety of disciplines. These films are produced by a number of companies such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences and Cambridge Educational.
A database of scholarly journals that have been digitized starting with their original issues, some of which date back into the 1800s.
- Learning Express Library
Find practice tests for the GRE among other exams. To navigate use the search at the bottom of the page.
- Oxford Biblical Studies
A comprehensive resource for the study of the Bible and biblical history. A valuable resource for anyone in need of an authoritative, ecumenical, and up-to-date resource.
- Polling the Nations
Database with a huge coverage of subject areas. Reports of polling research from many parts of the world on almost any subject.
- Project Muse
Contains over 100 resources, including information on the visual and performing arts.
- Sage Premier
More than 520 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.