Last Updated: Jun 30, 2015
Welcome to the libguide for Communication and Theater Arts. Here you will find information on some of the many resources the library has available for those studying in these areas.
Browse this guide by clicking on the tabs.
Got questions? Use the profile bar to contact me, or come visit us in the library!
Check out this LibGuide on how you can view databases on your mobile devices.
The University has many databases available for your use. While you may be familiar with general databases, such as Academic Search Premier or Jstor, you may not know that there are also databases that relate to your specific topic. We have selected a few for you to check out here.
View Databases A - Z
- Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for nearly 3,200 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.
- Alexander Street Video
With Alexander Street Video, users can do a single search across all the Alexander Street videos in the library including collections in history, art and architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, opera, theatre, musical performance, anthropology, health and rehabilitation, opera, nursing, science, women’s studies, black studies, LGBT studies, and more.
- Alt-Press Watch
his database provides full-text articles for over 210 publications of the alternative and independent presses, from 1970 to current.
- Biography in Context
cludes 600,00 + biographies featuring people from history to science to literature. Hundreds of topic pages with integrated reference material, periodical information and multimedia content. Also included is the Lives & Perspectives Collection which supports high-school curricula and university coursework by providing multidisciplinary content on notable figures and the societal forces that have shaped their lives.
- CQ Researcher
Noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published online 44 times a year.
A database of scholarly journals that have been digitized starting with their original issues, some of which
date back into the 1800s.
- Learning Express Library
Find practice tests for the GRE among other exams. To navigate use the search at the bottom of the page.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
Newspaper articles, wire and TV transcripts, legal information, medical information, and more make this an excellent source for finding just about anything a researcher will need.
- Polling the Nations
Database with a huge coverage of subject areas. Reports of polling research from many parts of the world on almost any subject.
- Project Muse
Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
- Sage Premier
SAGE publishes more than 520 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
- Statistical Abstract
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States